Russell George MS

Member of the Welsh Parliament for Montgomeryshire

Shadow Minister for Business, Economy, and Infrastructure

Russell George is the Welsh Conservative member of the Welsh Parliament for Montgomeryshire and has represented the constituency since 2011. Russell is the Shadow Minister for Business, Economy and Infrastructure with shadow responsibility for Mid Wales. He also Chairs the Welsh Parliament's Economy, Infrastructure & Skills Committee.

Russell was born in Welshpool in 1974 and was brought up and attended school in Montgomeryshire. He has a degree in Information and Media Studies from the University of Central England. Russell was elected to Powys County Council in 2008 and was a member of the Council’s executive management board between 2008 – 2011.

On his election to the Welsh Parliament in 2011, he was appointed the Shadow Minister for the Environment and Sustainable Development before becoming Shadow Minister for Agriculture and Rural Affairs between 2014 – 2016. In May 2016, Russell was returned to the Welsh Parliament with an increased majority.

Between 2013-2016, Russell set up and chaired the Welsh Parliament's Cross Party Group on Digital Communications which campaigned for improvements in the availability of superfast broadband and mobile coverage in Wales and during the 4th Assembly he was an active member of the Welsh Parliament's Environment and Sustainability Committee and the Petitions Committee. He currently Chairs the Cross Party Group on Transport.

His current priorities are to retain and improve local public services for the people of Montgomeryshire. Russell also feels passionate about encouraging younger people to get involved in public life and is keen to support and encourage new business start-ups and small business growth. Russell was heavily involved in promoting the Newtown bypass and in campaigning for improved broadband in rural areas of Wales. He has also been involved in lobbying for a Mid Wales Growth deal for the region.

His personal interests include Genealogy. He is the President of the Montgomeryshire Area Scout Council and the Deputy President of the Montgomeryshire MND Association. He is also Vice President of the Montgomery Waterway Restoration Trust, a member of Montgomeryshire Wildlife Trust, and is a member of Hope Church in Newtown and as such, he has been involved in many projects that support the community.

Before being elected to the Welsh Parliament, Russell was a town councillor, school governor, was on the Board of Coleg Powys, and was a member of the Theatr Hafren Management Committee.


Labour’s Enterprise Zones must deliver value for money or be dropped

Welsh Labour’s enterprise zones must start delivering value for money in 2018 according to the Welsh Conservatives.

The Welsh Government recently published job creation data for each of the individual enterprise zones for the first time since their establishment in 2012.

See Also

Paul Davies MS

Leader of the Welsh Conservatives in the Welsh Parliament and Member of the Welsh Parliament for Preseli Pembrokeshire

Suzy Davies MS

Member of the Welsh Parliament for South Wales West. Shadow Minister for Education and Welsh Language. The Leader's Diversity Champion.

Angela Burns MS

Member of the Welsh Parliament for Carmarthen West & South Pembrokeshire
Shadow Minister for Health

Andrew RT Davies MS

Member of the Welsh Parliament for South Wales Central and Shadow Minister for Environment, Sustainability, and Rural Affairs

Darren Millar MS

Member of the Welsh Parliament for Clwyd West. Chief Whip and Shadow Minister for External Affairs & International Relations

Mohammad Asghar MS

Assembly Member for South Wales East and Shadow Minister for Further Education, Skills, and Faith

Janet Finch-Saunders MS

Member of the Welsh Parliament for Aberconwy
Shadow Minister for Social Care, Children, Young People and Older People

Nick Ramsay MS

Member of the Welsh Parliament for Monmouth
Shadow Minister for Finance

David Melding MS

Member of the Welsh Parliament for South Wales Central.
Shadow Minister for Housing, Heritage, Culture, Tourism and Media

Mark Isherwood MS

Member of the Welsh Parliament for North Wales
Shadow Minister for Communities and Local Government, and North Wales