Darren Millar MS

Member of the Welsh Parliament for Clwyd West

Chief Whip and Shadow Minister for External Affairs & International Relations

Darren was first elected to the Welsh Parliament in May 2007 and was returned to the Senedd in 2011 and 2016 with increased majorities at each election.

Having been brought up in Towyn, Darren now lives in Kinmel Bay with his wife Rebekah and their two children, Mary and Toby. He enjoys reading and history.

Darren currently serves on the Welsh Conservative front bench as Chief Whip and Shadow Minister for External Affairs and International Relations. He also acts as Policy Director for the Welsh Parliament Group and serves as Vice Chair Policy on the Welsh Conservative Party Board. In addition, he Chairs the Welsh Parliament’s Cross Party Group on Faith, and the Cross Party Group on the Armed Forces and Cadets, each of which he is a founder member.

Between May 2016 and September 2018 Darren served as the Shadow Secretary for Education and Children, during which time he was a member of the Welsh Parliament's Children, Young People and Education Committee. Prior to his re-election to the Welsh Parliament in 2016, he served as Shadow Minister for Health and Older People, and Chaired the Welsh Parliament's influential Public Accounts Committee.

During his first term in office, Darren spent some time as Shadow Minister for the Economy and Transport, Shadow Minister for Environment and Planning and as Shadow Minister for Communities and Local Government. Whilst serving in these roles he also sat on the Welsh Parliament's Enterprise and Learning Committee, the Sustainability Committee, and Chaired the Health, Well-being and Local Government Committee.

Before becoming an member of the Welsh Parliament, Darren worked as a manager for an international charity. He has also been an accountant working in the construction, care home and telecommunications industries.

Darren is a Chartered Manager, a Fellow of the Chartered Management Institute (CMI), a Fellow of the Institute of Leadership and Management (ILM), and a Fellow of the Royal Society for the encouragement of Arts, Manufactures and Commerce (RSA). He was commissioned as a Minister by the Assemblies of God in Great Britain in May 2015.

In 2000/2001, Darren became the youngest serving Mayor in Wales, a record which he understands is as yet unbroken, when he served the township of Towyn and Kinmel Bay. He has also served as a member of Conwy County Borough Council, the North Wales Police Authority and the North Wales Fire and Rescue Service.


Gap between best and worst GCSE areas in Wales widens

The gap in GCSE performance between the best and worst areas in Wales has widened – and is at its worst point in five years.


In high performing Monmouthshire, a Conservative-run administration, 67% of all GCSEs were recorded as A* to C grades.


Welsh Government U-turn on tuition fees

Welsh Conservatives have welcomed the Welsh Government’s U-turn on raising the tuition fee threshold from £9000 to £9250.

In July, the Cabinet Secretary for Education Kirsty Williams AM announced plans to raise the tuition fee cap.

A&E waiting times double

Responding to NHS Wales’ quarterly report on ‘Time spent in NHS Wales Accident and Emergency (A&E) departments’, published today via StatsWales, Welsh Conservative health spokesman, Darren Millar AM comments.

See Also

Paul Davies MS

Leader of the Welsh Conservatives in the Welsh Parliament and Member of the Welsh Parliament for Preseli Pembrokeshire

Suzy Davies MS

Member of the Welsh Parliament for South Wales West. Shadow Minister for Education and Welsh Language. The Leader's Diversity Champion.

Angela Burns MS

Member of the Welsh Parliament for Carmarthen West & South Pembrokeshire
Shadow Minister for Health

Andrew RT Davies MS

Member of the Welsh Parliament for South Wales Central and Shadow Minister for Environment, Sustainability, and Rural Affairs

Russell George MS

Member of the Welsh Parliament for Montgomeryshire
Shadow Minister for Business, Economy and Infrastructure, and Mid Wales

Mohammad Asghar MS

Assembly Member for South Wales East and Shadow Minister for Further Education, Skills, and Faith

Janet Finch-Saunders MS

Member of the Welsh Parliament for Aberconwy
Shadow Minister for Social Care, Children, Young People and Older People

Nick Ramsay MS

Member of the Welsh Parliament for Monmouth
Shadow Minister for Finance

David Melding MS

Member of the Welsh Parliament for South Wales Central.
Shadow Minister for Housing, Heritage, Culture, Tourism and Media

Mark Isherwood MS

Member of the Welsh Parliament for North Wales
Shadow Minister for Communities and Local Government, and North Wales